Death dances in the Courtyard


Dengue

Dengue the deadly disease has invaded the historical city of Lahore in Pakistan. The deadly has so far killed more than 350 people in mare three months and more than 14000 Thousands have been infected with the virus. Hospitals are full of dengue patients.  The scare of dengue has started having psychological effects on the people. Open air dinners, parties and outings have been reduced, restaurants and barbeque places seems deserted. The tourists and visitors are more scared than locals. A single mosquito bite scares them of serious consequences. At my construction work site at least 6 workers contracted this disease. The most worrying thing is rapid decrease in blood platelet count. The blood platelet count of one worker was as follows:-

  • 1100 Hours                          -120*(10)9
  • 1400 hours                          -90
  • 2200 Hours                          -60
  • Next Morning                    -25

General Information

Dengue is transmitted by the bite of an Aedes mosquito infected with any one of the four dengue viruses. It occurs in tropical and sub-tropical areas of the world. Symptoms appear 3—14 days after the infective bite. Dengue fever is a febrile illness that affects infants, young children and adults.

Symptoms range from a mild fever, to incapacitating high fever, with severe headache, pain behind the eyes, muscle and joint pain, and rash. There are no specific antiviral medicines for dengue. It is important to maintain hydration. Use of acetylsalicylic acid (e.g. aspirin) and non steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (e.g. Ibuprofen) is not recommended.

Dengue haemorrhagic fever (fever, abdominal pain, vomiting, bleeding) is a potentially lethal complication, affecting mainly children. Early clinical diagnosis and careful clinical management by experienced physicians and nurses increase survival of patients.

  • Wear clothes that cover your arms, legs and feet
  • Close unscreened doors and windows
  • The use of mosquito deterrents in bedrooms is effective to reduce the number of mosquitoes in the room,
  • Correct use of mosquito nets (essential if accommodation is not air- conditioned). For added protection for up to 3 months or longer, mosquito nets can be soaked in 1 % solution of PERMETHRIN (or other repellent / insecticide). If resident in a malaria area, curtains can be treated in a similar manner.
  • Use of mosquito coils and “knockdown spray” (containing pyrethoids) – spray insecticide in cool dark places where mosquitoes lurk.Avoid use of dark colored clothing, perfumes and colognes in the evening and at night, as all these attract mosquitoes.
  • Use of an effective mosquito repellent on exposed skin and clothing. DEET (diethylmethylbenzamide) is an effective safe component of good repellents. The actual concentration of DEET varies widely between different manufacturers, and can be as high as 90% (too high for safety). Choose a repellent with between 30-45% DEET and take the following precautions against adverse reactions:
  1. apply sparingly and only to exposed skin
  2. never apply high concentrations to skin (use those for clothing)
  3. do not inhale / swallow repellent or get in eyes or mucous membranes
  4. do not apply to hands that may touch eyes or mouth
  5. do not apply to wounds, rashes, or abrasions
  6. wash repellent off after coming indoors to stay
  7. if skin starts to burn, wash repellent off and seek medical advice
24 thoughts on “Death dances in the Courtyard

  1. My coder is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the costs. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using WordPress on a variety of websites for about a year and am worried about switching to another platform. I have heard excellent things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress content into it? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  2. Hi! I know this is kinda off topic nevertheless I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest authoring a blog article or vice-versa? My website goes over a lot of the same topics as yours and I think we could greatly benefit from each other. If you are interested feel free to send me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you! Fantastic blog by the way!

  3. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get three e-mails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove people from that service? Thank you!

  4. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this site. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s hard to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and appearance. I must say you’ve done a superb job with this. In addition, the blog loads very fast for me on Safari. Excellent Blog!

  5. I discovered your weblog site on google and verify a few of your early posts. Proceed to maintain up the superb operate. I just additional up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Seeking forward to reading extra from you afterward!…

  6. To appropriately reword comments, you need to be creative and unique. Convince the author that just because the content is quite bland, it’s still information they need posted on their blog.

  7. Your blog has made me think about an question from another angle. This is completely rare when I change my conception about such issues but it looks that you’ve done it. The day has started with something new! Thank you!

  8. It is the best time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you some interesting things or tips. Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article. I desire to read even more things about it!

  9. Fully perceive what your stance on this matter. Although I might disagree on some of the finer particulars, I think you did an awesome job explaining it. Sure beats having to research it on my own. Thanks. Anyway, in my language, there are usually not a lot good source like this.

  10. Hello, are you the owner of this blog? I kinda wanted to pass to you a little inspriation. I won’t take up more than 3 seconds of your time, it’d be a shame if you missed out on http://www.make1351perweek.info My brother and I have been generating unbelieveable profits so far these last couple of months. We haven’t quite reached 1400+ bucks a week but so far I did 800 last week and I’m trying to reach $1,045 by the end of Sunday. Life’s looking good…so why not take just a minute and look it up? I promise that if you’re reading this, it’ll be the best thing you’ve ran by. Good luck and god bless you, hope to see you on the other side :-)!

  11. You could definitely see your skills within the paintings you write. The world hopes for even more passionate writers like you who aren’t afraid to mention how they believe. At all times follow your heart.

Leave a Reply

