Foundation stone of The Mae De Deus (Mother Of God) Church in Saligao, Bardez, Goa was laid on February 7, 1867 and it was inaugurated on 26th November 1873. Originally situated at Daujim, a tiny suburb of Old Goa in the 16th century, of which today only the tallest cross on a pedestal is seen amongst shrubs and coconut groves. The force behind the success of this construction was Salvador Pinto a resident of Saligao. He suggested that Saligao should construct its own church and have a separate parish. The exquisite wooden statue of Mae De Deus is a beautiful example of Goa Workmanship painted in golden colour. This wooden statue was originally from the Mae De Deus Church of Daujim-Old Goa and was taken ceremoniously in a decorated boat across the Mandovi River to Betim. The immaculate white Mae De Deus Church of Saligao has the typical pointed arch, with buttresses supporting its exteriors, belfry, and spikes all so arranged to create a wonderful and unique piece of Gothic architecture. It is the only one of its kind in the whole of Goa. The church dedicated to the Mother of God or Our Lady. Illuminated view of the Mae De Deus Church in Saligao, Bardez at the evenings and the nights has an exquisite charisma and worth viewing.