The Panagia Paraportiani (Our Lady of the Postern Gate) is the most famous of the many churches on Mykonos. The sloping, whitewashed conglomeration of four chapels mixes Byzantine and vernacular architecture. Its position on a promontory facing the sea sets off the unique architecture. It is located at the entrance of Kastro neighborhood, right next to the sea. Its name Paraportiani actually means “standing next to the entrance door”, meaning that the church was next to the Castle door. The building of this church started in 1425 and was not completed until the 17th century. The special thing about this church is that it actually consists of five small churches that were built one on top or next to the other. The church of Agios Efstathiosis the centre of this complex, surrounded by the churches of Agios Anargyros, Agios Sozon and Agia Anastasia. On top of these four churches, there is the Church of Virgin Mary, which looks like a dome. The five churches were not constructed at once, but gradually along centuries. The oldest church is Agios Anargyros, which was built in late 14th century. The other churches were built in the 16th and the 17th century.