Lamp to my feet and a light for my path


Desert
Desert

I was a Lieutenant, newly passed out of Military Academy; our unit was out in desert for Winter Collective Training. At night Commanding Officer was going out to see different subunits carrying out night training, he told me to accompany him. After visiting different subunits, he stopped his jeep and asked me “Can you reach camp at your own”.  As young, exuberant lieutenant I replied “Yes Sir”. He dropped me right in the middle of the desert and vanished in his jeep. Map and compass is standard tool for finding direction especially in desert, Standing alone among high sand dunes,  I realized that I should have carried these items along. I looked at sky for stars; you can get help from stars to find direction, but I was unlucky, it was a cloudy night. At that time I realized that my commanding officer wanted to teach me importance of being properly equipped and trained for every action. In life sometimes we are directionless and clueless, but we are lucky as Christians we are equipped with Holy Bible “The Word of God” for our guidance. King David says:-

“Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light for my path”. (Psalm 119:105)

Bible “The Word of God” is like stars in the dark night, if we are trained and understand their movement, we can easily find direction to our destination. But the real question that we must ask ourselves is that “Is it enough to see the light that Gospels provides us and move in it”. I think this the beginning, the gospel of Mathew tells us:-

“In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.” (Matthew 5:16)

file (3)Prayer of the Day

O Lord, we thank you for benevolence, You have provided us light in shape of Holy Bible, so that we may never dwell in darkness. O lord, we humbly request you to light our lives with your love, so that our lives shall be a sources of inspiration for all those people who lives around us and for all those with whom we interact. We again thank you O Lord for Your grace and love. Amen

More Verses on Light

The light shines in the darkness, but the darkness has not understood it.   John 1:5

When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”   John 8:12

This is the message we have heard from him and declare to you: God is light; in him there is no darkness at all.  If we claim to have fellowship with him yet walk in the darkness, we lie and do not live by the truth.  But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus, his Son, purifies us from all sin.  If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us.  If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.   1 John 1:5-9

The people living in darkness have seen a great light; on those living in the land of the shadow of death a light has dawned.”    Matthew 4:16

Leave a Reply

