Bible Verses for Engagement


Ecclesiastes 4:9

Two are better than one, because they have a good reward for their toil.

Colossians 3:14

And above all these put on love, which binds everything together in perfect harmony.

Mark 10:9

What therefore God has joined together, let not man separate.”

Amos 3:3

“Do two walk together, unless they have agreed to meet?

1 Corinthians 13:1-13

If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. And if I have prophetic powers, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give away all I have, and if I deliver up my body to be burned, but have not love, I gain nothing. Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; …

Mark 10:8

And the two shall become one flesh.’ So they are no longer two but one flesh.

Song of Solomon 8:6

Set me as a seal upon your heart, as a seal upon your arm, for love is strong as death, jealousy is fierce as the grave. Its flashes are flashes of fire, the very flame of the Lord.

1 Corinthians 7:10

To the married I give this charge (not I, but the Lord): the wife should not separate from her husband

Proverbs 18:22

He who finds a wife finds a good thing and obtains favor from the Lord.

Matthew 19:6

So they are no longer two but one flesh. What therefore God has joined together, let not man separate.”

Ecclesiastes 4:12

And though a man might prevail against one who is alone, two will withstand him—a threefold cord is not quickly broken.

Psalm 127:1

Unless the Lord builds the house, those who build it labor in vain. Unless the Lord watches over the city, the watchman stays awake in vain.

Deuteronomy 20:7

And is there any man who has betrothed a wife and has not taken her? Let him go back to his house, lest he die in the battle and another man take her.’

Genesis 12:1-20

Now the Lord said to Abram, “Go from your country and your kindred and your father’s house to the land that I will show you. And I will make of you a great nation, and I will bless you and make your name great, so that you will be a blessing. I will bless those who bless you, and him who dishonors you I will curse, and in you all the families of the earth shall be blessed.” So Abram went, as the Lord had told him, and Lot went with him. Abram was seventy-five years old when he departed from Haran. And Abram took Sarai his wife, and Lot his brother’s son, and all their possessions that they had gathered, and the people that they had acquired in Haran, and they set out to go to the land of Canaan. When they came to the land of Canaan, …

Hebrews 13:4

Let marriage be held in honor among all, and let the marriage bed be undefiled, for God will judge the sexually immoral and adulterous.

2 Corinthians 11:2

For I feel a divine jealousy for you, since I betrothed you to one husband, to present you as a pure virgin to Christ.

Proverbs 19:14

House and wealth are inherited from fathers, but a prudent wife is from the Lord.

Leave a Reply

